Home > Flex, Math > Newton and Halley’s Methods

Newton and Halley’s Methods

May 26, 2008

Rudimentary implementations of Newton and Halley’s methods have been added to the Singularity library. Due to the availability of a cheap second derivative, Halley’s method will most likely be used in the upcoming Bezier y-at-x development. Download Singularity here.

Categories: Flex, Math Tags: ,
  1. May 30, 2008 at 7:07 am

    Excellent stuff, Jim. I was wondering how could we use the Newton method to find the closest point on a BezierSpline.

    I finally found some time to play with your library and I’m really enjoying it.

  2. May 30, 2008 at 7:14 am

    Carlos – if memory serves, this was covered in Graphic Gems – a quick Google search uncovered a link – http://tog.acm.org/GraphicsGems/gems/NearestPoint.c

    If time permits, I’ll dust the cobwebs off my memory and add this to Singularity after the y-at-x development.

    thanks!

    – jim

  3. Rothrock
    June 2, 2008 at 4:59 pm

    Hello. Do you know any resource that explains what you mean by this? 🙂 I kind of understand it, but then when it would come to programing it I get completely lost.

    What is this cheap second derivative you mention? I’ve just always had a hard time taking math equations and performing them in Flash so any guidence you could provide would be very helpful.

  4. June 5, 2008 at 5:14 am

    Thanks for the tip Jim. It would be great if we could get Singularity from svn like googlecode. I’m using it more and more.

  5. June 5, 2008 at 5:51 am

    Carlos – I’ve been thinking about that; probably something that will happen when I get a chance to finish off the rigging classes and perhaps refactor some of the library. It started out as a code repository meant simply to illustrate algorithms. Now, it’s growing into something completely different.

    regards,

    – jim

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
