Home > General, Math > Typescript and Jangaroo

Typescript and Jangaroo

October 5, 2012

I think I’m about to set a new personal record for lowest number of posts in a given year. Is it really October already?

Well, at least I’m working and on a pretty interesting project from both a mathematical and programming perspective, so I should be thankful for that.

I am, however, still interested in doing something new and interesting this year and I think it will be along the lines of a computational geometry library and/or version of the Freehand Drawing Library in Javascript.  The CG library is likely to be released through a series of posts in an open-source context similar to the TechNotes series I did in Actionscript for Flash/Flex programmers.  The JS FDL is intended for clients doing mobile development in an HTML/JS environment.  Okay, it’s mostly for me to have fun – I confess! However, an extra license or two never hurt anyone🙂

To this end, I’m currently looking into both Typescript and Jangaroo.  Coffeescript is on the list as well, but I’m really looking to get back into Visual Studio and C++/C# development, so Typescript has some natural appeal.  Perhaps sufficient time will arise to deep-dive into all three?

I guess we’ll have to wait and see.  Sorry again for the waiting part.  This has been a strange (but fortunately very profitable) year.

  1. October 5, 2012 at 7:43 pm

    What about haxe? It has a much longer history on compiling to JS. And I think its C++ and C# targets would interest you too.

    • October 6, 2012 at 3:05 am

      I’ve looked at it and it’s on the list, but there have been issues in the past with the generated JS. Right now, especially with debugging, Jangaroo looks like a better AS3 -> JS alternative. thx. For C# or C++, I’d rather code directly🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
