Home > General, Math > The CompGeoJS Project

The CompGeoJS Project

December 10, 2013

I’ve received a few emails from readers of this (now closed) blog regarding my current development direction.  I’m actually taking some time off after working on a very long Flex gig to get involved in some new stuff.  As I look back over the span of time from 2004 (when I started this blog) to nearly 2014, my two favorite open-source projects were Degrafa and Singularity.  The Singularity project provided an Actionscript library for commonly used tools from the field of computational geometry.  I wrote a series of free TechNotes to explain the mathematics behind the techniques.  Unfortunately, the TechNotes did not follow any reasonable pedagogical order, and I kind of regret the approach.

I’m very interested in reviving this development for the new wave of interactive developers who are concentrating their efforts in HTML 5 and JS.  The goal of the CompGeoJS project is to provide interactive developers with a comprehensive, open-source library for addressing problems arising from the fields of analytic and computational geometry.  Unlike Singularity, the library will be developed first, along with a robust collection of demos and online documentation.  The process will be much more organized this time around and will eventually enable developers to tackle a wide variety of applications such as architecture, floor planning, advanced programmatic animation, and gaming.

Once the library reaches a solid ‘version one’ state, I will write an eBook to accompany the online documentation that discusses the mathematics behind all the tools.  I hope this will be of use to developers who wish to modify the library for very customized uses as well as instructors of numerical analysis and computational geometry.

It’s at a VERY early stage of development, but you can check out what is available right now and where the library is going at the CompGeoJS project home page.

Thanks and enjoy!

  1. No comments yet.
  1. December 10, 2013 at 10:58 am
Comments are closed.
